Today’s reading is Psalms 103-104.

A few years ago, on a different blog for which I used to write, I commonly ended my posts with the following: “May God bless you. More importantly, may you bless God.” I think I was taken to task over that statement more frequently and by more people than anything else I’ve ever written or said. I was told again and again that we simply cannot bless God. And yet, here it is multiple times in our two psalms for today. “Bless the Lord, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless his holy name!” Certainly, I don’t bless God with favors and benefits. However, because of God’s favors and benefits, how can I help but bless Him. That is, how can I help but praise, magnify, boast, exalt, speak well of, glorify, lift up God and His name? May God bless you. More importantly, may you bless God.

Monday’s reading is Psalm 105.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, hang on to Psalm 103. As you grow up, you’ll hear many people question God. You’ll even have experiences that make you question and wonder about God’s love and goodness to you. Even faithful Christians face bad days and struggles. But remember the message of this psalm. God is not picking on you. God does not deal with us according to our sins. He blesses us. He works righteousness. He forgives. He shows compassion to us. On the hard days, remember that and hang on to God.

Photo from Graceway Media

