Today’s reading is Psalm 73-74.

There are, no doubt, a lot of aspects of spiritual maturity. But the one that encompasses them all is found in today’s psalms. “Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth I desire besides you.” Wow! Can I say that? I don’t want anything or anyone as much as I want God? I pray to God that I will be able to say this along with Asaph because I know there is nothing so great as God. May we all grow to want nothing but Him whether on earth or in heaven.

Tomorrow’s reading is Psalms 75-77.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, there are a lot of things to want aren’t there. Toys, gizmos, gadgets, pets, clothes, friends, family, and on the list could go. Do you know what is greater than every single one of them? God is. Asaph’s point was not that we are never allowed to want anything else. His point is God is greatest and we must grow to want Him most. The great thing is in Christ, we can always have God no matter what anyone else does. They can take away our toys, our gizmos, our gadgets, our clothes, our friends, our family, but they can never take away our God. Therefore, we can always be content because we can always have the one we want most, no matter what. Praise the Lord!

Photo adapted from Graceway Media

