Today’s reading is 2 John and 3 John.

If Diotrephes teaches us anything, it is simply this. I can’t put God in the beginning if I put myself there. Even when I think that my greatest desire is God’s will, when I’m busy trying to give myself first place in the congregation, in my family, among my friends, I can’t help but give myself first place in my own heart. There is only room for one on the throne of my heart. God won’t force me off. He’ll make way for me if I demand it. But then all hope is lost. Let’s make sure God is the one we are putting at the beginning.

Monday’s reading is Psalm 73-74.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, did you hear what John said about his children? I know he is speaking metaphorically. That is, he isn’t talking about his biological children but talking about Christians he has taught as if they are his children. However, the principle is still the same. “I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking in the truth.” Trust me. That is exactly how your  parents feel about you. They want nothing more than to see you walking in the truth that will set you free. Whatever mistakes they make, however they fall short, however they try to communicate it, they really do want what is best for you. Walk in truth and give them joy. I promise you, your life will be better if you do.

Photo adapted from Graceway Media

