Today’s reading is 1 Thessalonians 5 and 2 Thessalonians 1.

I am not so naive or foolish as to think an eight-sentence blurb can answer all questions regarding alcohol and intoxication or deal with all the objections on either side of the debate. Instead of trying to do that, may I simply point out that putting God first means pursuing sobriety. We are of the day, and being of the day, we are to be sober. Many ask, “How much can I drink before I’m drunk?” May I challenge you to change your question. Instead, please ask, “How much should I drink in order to stay sober?” After all, sobriety is the goal, not merely staying this side of the unknown line of intoxication. Today, be sober and you’ll be putting God first.

Tomorrow’s reading is 2 Thessalonians 2-3.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, Paul gives us one of the most difficult instructions in today’s reading. “See that no one repays anyone evil for evil.” That is so hard. The moment someone does some evil to me, something inside me rises up wanting to more than defend myself. I want to retaliate to let them know how it feels. Have you ever wanted to do that? Paul encourages us to be completely different. When others mistreat you, do good to them. Love them. Pray for them. Little will make you more different from the world than pursuing this principle. But I warn you, it isn’t an easy habit to develop, so start now.

Photo adapted from Graceway Media

