Today’s reading is 1 Thessalonians 1-2.

Once again, I am humbled by the Scripture. If you were to ask me, I am willing to share the gospel with anyone, anywhere, anytime. But then I read Paul’s words and am brought up short: “So, being affectionately desirous of you, we were ready to share with you not only the gospel of God but also our own selves, because you had become very dear to us.” I’m ready to share the gospel. May I also become ready to share myself.

Tomorrow’s reading is 1 Thessalonians 3-4.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, can I warn you of a struggle many of us end up having. I know I wage a battle against it all the time. Paul says, “So we speak, not to please man, but to please God.” I want people to like me. Don’t you? However, if we’re not careful, we get so caught up in wanting people to like us and in pleasing them that we end up harming them because we won’t tell them what pleases God. Please people above God is not being nice to them no matter how much they like it. Pleasing God is always the way to go. Remember that as you grow.

Photo adapted from Graceway Media

