Today’s reading is Proverbs 28-29.

“The wicked flee when no one pursues,
but the righteous are bold as a lion.”
Proverbs 28:1

I had to mention this one today. I think this may have been the only proverb my dad knew. Of course not. But it is the one he quoted to me the most. “Why you looking, nervous son? You know the wicked flee when no man pursues.” I always wanted to respond, “But you are pursuing, Dad.” In any event, understand this: sin plays on us like a tell-tale heart (ask your American Lit teacher). But that is not necessarily a bad thing. When our own guilt leads us to make our sin known by our behavior, we might be at the beginning of repentance. When you find you want to flee and no one is pursuing, think about why and perhaps you’ll find your way back to God.

Tomorrow’s reading is Proverbs 30-31.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, did you know “By justice a king builds up the land, but he who exacts gifts tears it down”? (Proverbs 29:4). I don’t expect you to have thought about that much or even to quite understand it. You don’t have to pay taxes yet. But the point is when a king taxes his people too much, he hurts his own kingdom. The reason I bring this one up is because even though this is one of Solomon’s proverbs, this is exactly what caused his kingdom to be ripped from his son. I just want to point out to you that it isn’t enough to know a proverb or even to write a good proverb. If you don’t live by it, it won’t help you. Keep that in mind as you grow up.

Photo adapted from Graceway Media

