Today’s reading is Proverbs 26-27.

“The crucible is for silver, and the furnace is for gold,
and a man is tested by his praise.”
Proverbs 27:21

A trial by…praise? Really? That is a trial by fire? I can think of all kinds of other things I would call a trial by fire. Being attacked by false teachers. Being attacked by brethren. Getting fired for teaching the truth. But praise? I love praise. I long for praise. Praise makes me feel good. And therein is the problem. The praise is due God, and my heart is tested in the fires of praise to see who is really my God. To God be the glory.

Tomorrow’s reading is Proverbs 28-29.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, as the proverb I shared with your parents says, how we handle praise can show who our God is. At the same time, the proverbs also tell us to “Let another praise you, and not your own mouth” (Proverbs 27:2). It is not wrong to receive praise. However, don’t let praise be your god such that you chase it and even start it. Do your work for the Lord. If He sees fit to have someone praise you, He will. If not, know that He will reward you in eternity. You don’t need to start tooting your own horn to feel good about yourself. Trust God to give you your proper praise.

Photo from Graceway Media

