Today’s reading is Proverbs 18-19.

“A fool takes no pleasure in understanding,
but only in expressing his opinion.”
Proverbs 18:2

I didn’t have to get too far in today’s reading to find a proverb that is in competition with yesterday’s for being my worst proverb yet. And I couldn’t help but think what failing at this proverb will do to our relationships, especially marriage. Let’s put God in the beginning of all our relationships by seeking to understand each other before we spout our opinions. Let me know how it works for you.

Today’s reading is Proverbs 20-21.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, may I encourage you to go back up and read the proverb I highlighted for your parents. I wish I had picked up on that proverb when I was a kid. My life would have been so much better and easier. How many times did I spout off when I didn’t know any better and got myself in some kind of trouble. Learn now that you don’t have to have an opinion about everything. Further, learn now that most of your opinions can be left unsaid. Further, learn now that most of your opinions could probably be helped by listening to others and studying more before you start sharing. There is a place for your opinion, but work on understanding first.

Photo adapted from Graceway Media

