Today’s reading is Esther 1-2.

I know what lies ahead in Esther because I’ve read it before. Therefore, I’m really struck by the plot Mordecai was able to uncover to save the king. Of course, God could simply have struck Haman down as a young man before letting him have power to influence the king in the coming chapters. That, however, is not how He chose to save Israel. Notice how God is working long before Haman comes to power and influence to deliver Israel when He does. I never know what is coming in the future. I rarely understand what is going on in the present. But I can have faith that God sees it all, from the beginning to the end and He is working even now to prepare me for what lies ahead. Praise the Lord!

Monday’s reading is Esther 3-4.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, if you’ve never read Esther before, you are in for a treat. I hope you notice an amazing contrast. God is nowhere in this book. His name is never mentioned. We are never told that anyone calls on Him and we are never told that He did anything. However, God is everywhere in this book. He is hinted at and understood to be behind all that is happening. It is an amazing look at God’s care and guardianship for His people even when we don’t see or know what He is doing. Pay attention and see if you can see the God who is hidden in this book.

Photo from Graceway Media

