Today’s reading is 1 Corinthians 13-14.

How many times have I wished I could speak in tongues, heal the sick, or just be able to prophesy? Oh, it would be so cool if I could do one of those things. What great teaching I could do with those gifts; what great evangelistic impact I could have with those gifts; how much better the congregation would be with those gifts? But Paul says better than all those gifts is love. Hmmm. I wonder what great teaching I could do with love, what great evangelistic impact I could have with love, how much better the congregation would be with love? The crazy thing is I can love, but too often I ignore that in pursuit of cool abilities and powers. Today, I wish for love. How cool will it be to have love? Very cool indeed.

Tomorrow’s reading is 1 Corinthians 15-16.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, you can have all the cool toys in the world, but if you don’t have love, they aren’t doing you any good. You can be the coolest kid in your class, but if you don’t have love, you are the worst. You can be the richest kid in the neighborhood, but if you don’t have love, you are the poorest. God loves you so much, Jesus sacrificed Himself for you. How about passing that love on to others today? Doesn’t that sound like a great idea?

Photo from Graceway Media

