Today’s reading is 1 Corinthians 9-10.

Obviously, when we put God in the beginning, everything we do is going to be about His glory. But keep reading 1 Corinthians 10:31-33. When everything I do is about giving God glory, everything I do is in order to save everyone. Putting God in the beginning means putting my neighbor’s soul before my preferences, privileges, and rights. It means doing everything I can to save everyone who sees me. No doubt, many will neglect the message and refuse to appreciate our sacrifices and effort. However, they should be that important to us anyway.

Tomorrow’s reading is 1 Corinthians 11-12.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, please don’t make the mistake so many grown-ups have made with 1 Corinthians 10:13. Many come to this verse and say, “See, God won’t give you more than you can handle. If He is giving you this much, He obviously thinks you are very strong.” I’ve even said that before. However, as I said yesterday, we need to keep reading and keep learning. That isn’t Paul’s point at all. This person isn’t able to handle the temptation and struggle because they are strong, they are able to handle it because God provides the way of escape. He allows us to face temptation and struggle not to demonstrate our strength, but to demonstrate our weakness and our need for Him. Don’t put your faith in yourself when you face struggles and temptations, put your faith in God and take His way of escape.

Photo adapted from Graceway Media

