Today’s reading is 1 Corinthians 1-2.

Okay, I said it: Christ did not send me to baptize. He didn’t send you to baptize either. If you and I never baptize anyone in our whole lives, we haven’t necessarily done a single thing wrong. If our congregation never baptizes a single person in its entire existence, we haven’t necessarily done a single thing wrong. What Christ has done is send us to proclaim the gospel, the word of the cross. If we don’t do that, we’ve done everything wrong. Certainly, some people hearing that will want to respond and be baptized for the remission of their sins. I’m happy to baptize them, and I hope you are also. But its God’s job to get baptisms, not ours. Let’s put God in the beginning by putting the proclamation of His gospel in the beginning, leave the baptisms up to Him.

Monday’s reading is 1 Corinthians 3-4.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, you need to know this from the outset. The world thinks the message of Christ’s cross is foolish. They’ve thought that since it first began to be preached in Paul’s day. Don’t let that sway you though. God’s foolishness is wiser than the world’s wisdom. There will come a day when everyone recognizes God’s wisdom was best. But for many, that day will come too late. Don’t be one of those. Recognize the wisdom of Christ on the cross and let Him lead you to God. Trust me, in 10,000 years, you’ll be glad you did (really, a lot sooner than that, but I hope you get my point).

Photo adapted from Graceway Media.

