Today’s reading is Psalms 57-60.

Imprecatory psalms, the psalms that ask God to break the teeth of the wicked and bathe his feet in their blood, are tough for me too (cf. Psalm 58). They seem unloving and therefore unChristian. I certainly don’t have all the answers to why those psalms exist or how they translate from an Old Covenant context into a New Covenant context. However, I do know this. The wicked will be judged. No one gets away with sin. Either we will surrender to Jesus and allow God’s wrath that was poured out on Him to atone for our wickedness or we will hold Him at arm’s length and God’s wrath will be poured out on us. And I think we are happy for that to happen to the people out there we think are truly wicked, but what we need to see is that is us. Therefore we need a Savior.

Tomorrow’s reading is Psalms 61-65.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, one of the things I like about the Psalms is they give us the words we need to praise and glorify God. I love the statement in Psalm 57:5. “Be exalted, O God, above the heavens! Let your glory be over all the earth!” What a great statement of praise. Let me encourage you to pay attention to the psalmists’ praises and let them become your own. What a way to learn how to praise God. Keep reading and keep praising.

Photo adapted from Graceway Media

