Today’s reading is Psalms 49-51.

Doesn’t that have a nice ring to it? Crozier City. Or perhaps Edwinville. Wouldn’t it be cool to be so rich, so popular, so influential, so powerful, so beloved, so whatever to have a city named after you? Like Lincoln, Washington, and Franklin no one would ever forget you. Wouldn’t that be a worthy goal? But Psalm 49 brings me up short on this. Even if a city is named after me for any reason and people remember my name for generations, I’m still going to die and enter Sheol (the grave, the realm of the dead). What good will my city do me then? However, if God’s city is my goal, He will ransom me from Sheol, from death itself. I think I’ll pursue that today instead, how about you?

Monday’s reading is Psalms 52-56.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might. That is a biblical principle. If along the way, men and women honor you, that’s great. However, when the honor of other people becomes your biggest goal, you’re going the wrong direction. Let God, His city, His goals, His ways be your greatest desire. If He brings the blessings of other people on you, that is His business. But whether or not you receive the praises of men, keep God’s presence as your goal and your number one desire. He is the only one who can ransom your soul from death, nothing else will accomplish that.

Photo adapted from Graceway Media

