Today’s reading is Romans 12-13.

Too often we only ever ask if an activity is technically a sin all by itself. We need to ask where an activity is leading. Paul says not to make provisions for the desires of the flesh. Making provision for the desire of the flesh is not the same as pursuing the desire of the flesh. But it is packing your bags to take that trip. If we want to put God in the beginning, we need to pack our bags to pursue God and His will. After all, if I pack the bags for sin, chances are I’m going to pursue sin. If I pack my bags for God, chances are I’m going to pursue God. What bags are you packing today?

Tomorrow’s reading is Romans 14-15.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, you probably read one of the hardest commands God has given us in today’s reading. “Repay no one evil for evil. That is tough. When someone hurts me, I naturally want to get back at them. But Paul says we need to repay evil with kindness. We need to let God decide what kind of vengeance is necessary recognizing, of course, He may decide no vengeance is necessary. Today, many want to overcome evil with evil. But Paul tells us to be different. Instead, we should overcome evil with good. Be good to others, no matter how they treat you. It’s not always easy, but it is always right.

Photo adapted from Graceway Media

