Today’s reading is Romans 6-7.

“Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?” Been there, done that. How about you? I know many argue about who Paul is talking about and when in life Paul is talking about him. Doctrinally speaking, I do have opinions about that. But practically speaking, I say whenever I feel that, I’m acting like whoever Paul was talking about whenever he was talking about them. I take great comfort that Paul actually had an answer to this question. “Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord!” Jesus, who gives life to the dead just as Abraham believed in Romans 4, will deliver me from my body of death. He will give life to my mortal body. Praise the Lord!

Tomorrow’s reading is Romans 8-9.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, once again, Paul is not giving anyone permission to go sin. However, he is giving you permission to turn to God through Jesus Christ when you have sinned. Even Paul caved to all kinds of covetousness. But Jesus Christ saved him. When you find that you have sinned, don’t languish in the spiritual death you experience. Turn to Jesus for life and revel in His grace, living by faith in Him.

Photo from Graceway Media

