Today’s reading is Romans 2-3.

“Therefore you have no excuse, O man, every one of you who judges.” How easy it is to think this is just a declamation against all those hypocrites out there. But what if it is something different? What if Paul is foreshadowing his coming statement that “all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God”? That is, every one of us who has the ability to rebuke others for sin are in a bit of a bind. Our ability to judge those who sin leaves us without excuse in our own sins. We are without hope because we are without excuse, unless God provides a Savior. Praise God that His righteousness “has been manifested apart from the law” so that we “are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus, whom God put forward as a propitiation by his blood, to be received by faith.” When we stand before God in judgment, we will have no excuse, but we can have a Savior. Let’s put Him in the beginning of our lives, so He will be with us at the end of our lives.

Tomorrow’s reading is Romans 4-5.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, if you are like me the description of sinners in Romans 3:10-18 sounds a bit extreme. Sometimes when I read it, I think, “Lucky I’m not that bad.” But then I realized that isn’t the point. Paul is not saying I’m a sinner when I’m that bad. He is saying I’m that bad when I’m a sinner. Sin takes us away from the glory and holiness of God. There is no little sin, minor sin, small sin. There is only sin and the awful state it leaves us in away from God. Remember that as you grow up. When you sin, you need a Savior. Praise the Lord there is no little Savior, minor Savior, small Savior. There is Jesus Christ, a great Savior!

Photo adapted from Graceway Media

