Today’s reading is John 21; Romans 1.

The Gospel, the good news, the power of God for salvation. What does this mean? It means I am not God’s power for salvation. It means you are not the power of God for salvation. Certainly, we must proclaim the gospel (we’ll see that in Romans 10), but no one’s salvation actually depends upon me. Certainly, I must strive to uphold the gospel rather than contradict it by my life, but I do not have to fear that I am more powerful than the gospel. I don’t have to be afraid that my feeble attempts will fail; I can simply share the gospel that so impressed me with others and let it work its power in their lives, if they will let it.If they submit, I cannot take the credit. But if they reject, I do not have to fear that God blames me for their failure. Praise the Lord!

Tomorrow’s reading is Romans 2-3.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, as you grow up, the world will try to make you ashamed of Christ’s gospel. They will try to get you to think it is anything but good news. (The word “gospel” literally means “good news.”) They will try to make you think it is silly news, hard news, bad news, unbelievable news, judgmental news, intolerant news, and on their list will go. They are wrong. The good news of Christ’s conquest over sin and death is the greatest good news ever heralded. Don’t let the devil or the world turn you from it. Rather, turn to it, be saved by it, take refuge in it. Hold on to it.

Photo adapted from Graceway Media

