Today’s reading is Leviticus 11-12.

I often joke about being glad that I’m not under the Law of Moses because life would be awful without bacon. However, that is really not what is great about being under the Faith instead of under the Law. All those rules about cleanliness remind me of one thing, if being clean were left up to me, I’d be unclean. I’d never make it. Praise the Lord under the Faith cleanliness doesn’t come from measuring up to a set of clean living rules. It comes from Jesus Christ and faith in Him and His death on the cross. He became unclean, becoming a curse so that I could be cleansed. I really can live without bacon, but I can’t live without Jesus. Praise the Lord!

Tomorrow’s reading is Leviticus 13-14.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, don’t make the mistake that so many have made when reading these chapters. No doubt, some of these laws about cleanliness were beneficial at physical health and bodily hygiene level. However, the things that were clean weren’t so because they were good for people while the unclean were bad for people. Things were clean because God said so and unclean because God said so. We live in a culture that doesn’t really like the idea of someone having that kind of authority over us. But always remember, while our God is not fickle and He doesn’t just make up rules just for the fun of it, He is God. He is the Supreme Sovereign Ruler of all. He does get to establish right and wrong. Our feelings about His decisions  do not change His decisions. Always remember that.

