Today’s reading is Leviticus 3-4.

I am never more thankful for Jesus Christ than I am when reading Leviticus. I struggle to understand exactly what each sacrifice is about and how each one was to be conducted. I get freaked out by having to place my hands on the head of the sacrifice and then having to kill it while watching the priests take its blood to toss on the altar. Then I remember that God took care of all that for me. He sent the great sacrifice…His Son. Jesus went to the cross and sprinkled His own blood on the altar. Thank You, God, for the Great Sacrifice. I need it.

Tomorrow’s reading is Leviticus 5-6.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, I hope you aren’t too grossed out by today’s reading. Leviticus  is a pretty bloody book. Of course, you might think that is cool. Either way, understand what is going on here. God didn’t command all these sacrifices just to give the Levites and Priests something to do. This all comes from sin. Sin is losing its meaning in our modern culture as many think it is an outmoded concept. But if Leviticus teaches us anything, it teaches us sin is so serious the only thing that deals with it properly is blood and death. Jesus went to the cross because God takes our sins seriously. Let’s take sin as seriously as God does and be glad He took seriously enough to deal with it for us. Praise the Lord!

Photo adapted from Graceway Media

