Today’s reading is Galatians 5-6.

Why put God in the beginning? Because we reap what we sow. When we sow God and His Spirit in our hearts first, then God’s blessings and His Spirit’s fruit are what grows up in the end. If we put our own passions and fleshly pleasures in the beginning, then corruption and cursing are what grows in the end. Which do you really want? I know you didn’t wake up this morning saying, “I’d like a good dose of hate, anxiety, and misery.” You want the same things I do: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. That only comes from sowing God in the beginning. What will you sow today? What will you reap tomorrow?

Tomorrow’s reading is Ephesians 1-2.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, in today’s reading you catch a glimpse of the lifelong battle we all face: the flesh versus the spirit. It reminds me of the old preacher story you’ll hear in 25 sermons throughout your life from 25 different preachers. I hope you’re hearing it from me first. A young Indian boy went to his chief to get some advice, saying “I feel like a battle is waging inside me all the time. I want to do right for my family and tribe, but I constantly am tempted to do wrong and just please myself.” The chief explained, “Every one of us has two wolves fighting inside us. One is the wolf that fights for what is right and true, the other fights for our flesh and selfishness.” “Which one will win,” the boy begged to know. The chief in wisdom replied, “The one you feed.” Whether we take the chief’s words of feed the right wolf or Paul’s of sowing to the Spirit, the point is the same; whichever one you feed and focus on will win.

