Today’s reading is Exodus 5-6.

When Pharaoh increased the workload on Israel and the Israelites came complaining to Moses, God gave 7 promises. Though they were to the Israelites about slavery in Egypt and deliverance to the Promised Land, read them again as to us about slavery in sin and deliverance to God’s presence, the true deliverance these promises foreshadow. I don’t have room for comment on them in the post. I simply encourage you to meditate on these promises today:

I am Yahweh:

  1. I will bring you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians.
  2. I will deliver you from slavery to them.
  3. I will redeem you with outstretched arm and with great acts of judgment.
  4. I will take you to be my people.
  5. I will be your God, and you shall know that I am the LORD your God, who has brought you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians.
  6. I will bring you into the land that I swore to give to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob.
  7. I will give it to you for a possession.

I am Yahweh!

Tomorrow’s reading is Exodus 7-8.

A Word for Our Kids

Hey kids, take a lesson from Moses. Sometimes we think doing what God says means automatic and immediate victory and ease. Not so. Often, we have to go through the darkness before we get to the light. Often, life gets harder before it gets easier. That is true even when we are obeying God. Often it is true because we are obeying God. Moses went to Pharaoh and was seemingly expecting immediate deliverance. Instead, the immediate response was more hardship. However, in the end the glory for God and powerful deliverance for Israel was even greater. Don’t get swayed when you obey God and things don’t immediately go your way, keep hanging on to God. In the end, He always wins.

Photo adapted from Graceway Media

